A blog about things that interest me, politics, news, media, architecture, development, environment, local history, secularism, web, dublin ireland, tara

Contact me at expectationlost@gmail.com

Friday 25 March 2016

Dail Reform 2016

Dail Notice of Motion on dail Reform Oireachtas 10th March, 2016

5b. “That, notwithstanding anything in Standing Orders–

(a) the sub-Committee on Dáil Reform shall be chaired by the Ceann Comhairle and include
not more than 14 other members of the House, of which three members would be
appointed by Fine Gael, three members by Fianna Fáil, two members by Sinn Féin, one
member by the Labour Party and five members representing the independent deputies and
members from other political parties, and that provision be made for the substitution of
members as allowed for under Standing Order 107(3)(b);

(b) the Ceann Comhairle shall announce the names of the members appointed under paragraph

(a) for the information of the Dáil on the first sitting day following their appointment;

(c) Standing Order 93(2) shall not apply to the sub-Committee (in relation to using the
d’Hondt system for the allocation of Chairman posts);

(d) any member or political party may make a submission on Dáil reform to the sub-
Committee which shall review these submissions and report back to the Dáil within four
weeks with a series of recommendations for the approval of the House; and

(e) the sub-Committee shall present an interim report on their working arrangements at a full
sitting of the Dáil on 6th April, 2016 and that it will include initial consideration on
appropriate rules regarding the establishment of technical groupings in the Dáil and
arrangements for the management of Parliamentary Questions and the ordering of Dáil
business in the interim period while the sub-Committee is sitting.”

—An Taoiseach Enda Kenny and all other members of the Fine Gael parliamentary party,
Micheál Martin and all other members of the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party, Gerry Adams
and all other members of the Sinn Féin parliamentary party, Joan Burton and all other
members of the Labour parliamentary party, Catherine Murphy, Stephen S. Donnelly, Róisín
Shortall, Eamon Ryan, Catherine Martin, Thomas Pringle, Clare Daly, Joan Collins, Thomas
P. Broughan, Mick Wallace, Mick Barry, Richard Boyd Barrett, Ruth Coppinger, Paul Murphy,
Gino Kenny, Bríd Smith, Maureen O'Sullivan, Séamus Healy, Denis Naughten, Noel Grealish,
Michael Collins, Mattie McGrath, Michael Harty, Katherine Zappone.

Why didn't the members of the Independent Alliance sign this motion?

Standing Order 112 Select Committee: Appointment of Members Dail 22 March 2016

Committee on Procedure and Privileges (Dáil) > Sub-Committee on Dáil Reform

Dail Reform Proposals

Fine Gael Manifesto

Fianna Fail Manisfesto Seanad Reform FF policy docs 2013

Greent Party Manifesto

Sinn Fein

Social Democrats Manifesto

Labour Manifesto

Independent Alliance Charter for Change

Eoghan Murphy TD 2013 Dail Reform report

New committee on Dáil reform discusses how House can be run more effectively Mar 24, 2016, Sarah Bardon Irish Times.